Skip to content
Blue agave field with the Tequila volcano under a bright sky in Jalisco
Juan Carlos Fonseca Mata, CC BY-SA

Distillery tours in Tequila, Jalisco

Two distillery tours with tastings in the town of Tequila: Casa Sauza from 340 pesos and Jose Cuervo’s La Rojeña at 585 pesos, one hour to an hour and a half.

Tequila is a town in the agave country of Jalisco, north-west of Guadalajara, and the spirit takes its name from it. Two distilleries in the town run tours that end with a tasting: Jose Cuervo, at its La Rojeña distillery, and Casa Sauza. Prices run from 340 to 585 Mexican pesos for an adult, for one hour to an hour and a half, as read on their own sites on 4 and 5 October 2026.

The two tours side by side

DistilleryTourPriceLengthLanguageAge
Casa SauzaPerseverancia Tour340 pesos per person1 hourSpanish onlytasting 18 and over
Jose Cuervo, La RojeñaJose Cuervo Experience585 pesos, adults only1 hour 30not statedadults only
  • Casa Sauza, at Luis Navarro 70 in the centre of Tequila, runs the Perseverancia Tour for 340 pesos, from Tuesday to Sunday at 10:00, 12:00, 16:00 and 16:45. It is offered in Spanish only. Every Casa Sauza tour, according to the distillery’s FAQ, includes a guided walk through the distillery and a tasting of cooked agave juice, freshly distilled tequila and extra añejo straight from the barrel. Tasting is reserved for ages 18 and over. For a tour in English as well as Spanish, the Tour Casa Sauza costs 470 pesos and lasts two hours. The Tres Generaciones, a four-hour tour with a meal, costs 1,600 pesos.
  • Jose Cuervo runs the Jose Cuervo Experience at La Rojeña, a distillery it presents as the oldest in Latin America, for 585 pesos, adults only. In an hour and a half, it covers how tequila is made, a taste of tequila alongside cooked agave, and a four-glass tasting of Tradicional. A Classic Experience without tasting costs 345 pesos for an adult and 80 pesos for a minor.

How to choose

  • If you speak Spanish, the Perseverancia is the shortest and least expensive of the two tours compared here. The distillery’s FAQ says every tour ends with a tasting.
  • If you need English, Casa Sauza’s bilingual Tour Casa Sauza, at 470 pesos, is the one that states it. Cuervo does not state a tour language on the page read for this guide, so ask when you book.
  • With teenagers, Cuervo’s Experience is for adults only, and Casa Sauza keeps its tastings for 18 and over: Cuervo’s Classic Experience, without tasting, has a rate for minors.

What to taste

Tequila is distilled from the cooked heart of the blue agave. A tasting usually moves from blanco, unaged, through reposado and añejo, aged in oak, to extra añejo, aged longest. At Casa Sauza, the FAQ lists a tasting of cooked agave juice, freshly distilled tequila and extra añejo straight from the barrel. At Cuervo, a tasting of four glasses.

Practical tips for distillery tours in Tequila

  • Pick the right day. Casa Sauza’s Perseverancia runs from Tuesday to Sunday: plan a Monday visit elsewhere.
  • Getting there. Tequila lies north-west of Guadalajara, which has the state’s main airport. Operators and taxis run from Guadalajara. Leave the car if you taste.
  • The landscape. The agave fields around Tequila are a UNESCO World Heritage site. The blue-grey rows of plants line the roads into town.
  • Prices change. The figures here were read on the distilleries’ own sites on 4 and 5 October 2026.

Budget

For one adult, both tours on the same day cost 925 pesos (340 plus 585). Casa Herradura, another distillery, is in Amatitán, the next town towards Guadalajara.

Combine with

Mexico City, a flight away, has food tours in the Centro Histórico, Roma, Condesa and Coyoacán, compared in this guide.

Sources

  • Mundo Cuervo: Jose Cuervo Experience at La Rojeña (price, adults only, length, tasting) consulted on October 4, 2026
  • Mundo Cuervo: La Rojeña Distillery (price, length) consulted on October 4, 2026
  • Casa Sauza: guided tours (Perseverancia Tour, schedule, what every tour includes) consulted on October 5, 2026
  • Casa Sauza: guided tours in Spanish (price, language, address, tasting age) consulted on October 4, 2026

Page last updated on .