
Food tours in Osaka
Guided food tours in Osaka’s Shinsekai, Dotonbori and Namba districts with four operators: 13,000 to 25,300 yen per person, 3 to 3.5 hours.
Osaka has long been called the nation’s kitchen, and its own word for the local appetite, kuidaore, means roughly “eat until you drop”. A food tour there goes through one of the city’s eating districts: Shinsekai, Dotonbori, Namba or the Tenjinbashi arcade. Four operators are compared here. Two price in yen, 13,000 to 25,300 yen per person. Two price in US dollars. All tours last 3 to 3.5 hours.
Four tours, four districts
| Operator | Tour | Price | Duration | Meeting point | Group size |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hungry Osaka Tours | Osaka Food Tour in Shinsekai | 13,000 yen per person (group tour) | 3 to 3.5 hours | outside Ebisucho Station, Exit 3 (Sakaisuji Line) | not stated |
| Arigato Travel | Osaka Dotonbori Daytime Food Tour | from 25,300 yen (adult) | 3 hours | see the operator | not stated |
| Secret Food Tours | Osaka | 130.99 US dollars list price, shown at 79.99 when read | 3 to 3.5 hours | outside Minami-Morimachi Station, Exit 3, Tenjinbashi arcade | 10 people max |
| Ninja Food Tours | Osaka Namba Food Crawl | 96.60 US dollars per person | 3 hours, from 4:30 pm | UCC Cafe Plaza, Namba | 2 to 8 people |
- Hungry Osaka Tours runs its tours in English with native English-speaking guides. Children from about five years old are welcome. A private tour costs 17,000 yen.
- Arigato Travel welcomes all ages. Children of 12 and under pay from 12,650 yen.
- Secret Food Tours makes 9 stops in English, for 10 people at most. Its list price, the one this guide counts, is 130.99 US dollars per person. When its page was read, it showed 79.99 dollars under the crossed-out 130.99, with no reason or end date for the lower price: check the amount when you book.
- Ninja Food Tours includes dinner and drinks in its Namba crawl, which starts at 4:30 pm.
How to choose
- Price in yen. Hungry Osaka’s group tour, at 13,000 yen, costs about half Arigato’s from 25,300 yen.
- District. Shinsekai, around the Tsutenkaku tower, with Hungry Osaka. Dotonbori, along its canal of neon signs, with Arigato. The Tenjinbashi arcade, a long covered shopping street, with Secret Food Tours. Namba in the evening with Ninja Food Tours.
- Time of day. Arigato’s Dotonbori tour runs in the daytime. Ninja’s starts at 4:30 pm, in time for dinner.
- Children. Arigato takes all ages with a child price, Hungry Osaka from about five.
- Language. Hungry Osaka and Secret Food Tours both state English.
What to taste in Osaka
- Takoyaki, balls of batter with a piece of octopus inside, turned in a moulded griddle and topped with sauce and bonito flakes.
- Okonomiyaki, a savoury cabbage pancake cooked on a hot plate.
- Kushikatsu, skewers of meat, fish or vegetables, breaded and fried. Shinsekai is known for it, and the shared sauce pot is for one dip only per skewer.
- Kitsune udon, noodles in broth with sweet fried tofu, said to come from Osaka.
Osaka and Tokyo
This guide also compares food tours in Tokyo, less than two and a half hours away on the Nozomi Shinkansen. Kyoto and Nara can be reached by train from Osaka.
Practical tips for food tours in Osaka
- Getting there. Kansai International Airport is linked to the city by train. Shinkansen trains stop at Shin-Osaka, and the Midosuji subway line runs from there to Umeda and Namba.
- Come hungry. Up to 9 stops in three hours stand in for dinner.
- Prices change. The figures here were read on the operators’ own sites on 4 October 2026. Resellers may charge differently.
Sources
- Hungry Osaka Tours: Osaka Food Tour in Shinsekai (price, duration, language, meeting point) consulted on October 4, 2026
- Hungry Osaka Tours: home page (children) consulted on October 4, 2026
- Arigato Travel: Osaka Dotonbori Daytime Food Tour (adult price, duration, ages) consulted on October 4, 2026
- Secret Food Tours: Osaka (price, duration, group size, meeting point) consulted on October 4, 2026
- Ninja Food Tours: Osaka Namba Food Crawl (price, duration, group size) consulted on October 4, 2026
Page last updated on .